Getting to many of Utah’s outdoor activities requires a car. And, if you drive in Utah you need insurance. Thus you need to get Utah car insurance quotes online, to make sure you get the coverage you need, at a price you can afford.
If you already have a policy type and coverage amount in mind, getting a quote right away makes the most sense. However, if you’d like to learn a little more about the ins-and-outs of Utah’s insurance legislation have a look at the sections below. They cover everything from what your mandatory insurance requirements are to reasons why getting a quote can save you money.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements In Utah
Utah is a threshold, no-fault state, when it comes to auto insurance. What this means for you, is that you have to maintain two types of auto insurance when you drive in the state. These are liability insurance (which in turn comes in two different types) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP)/No-Fault insurance.
Therefore, your overall mandatory insurance requirements in Utah are as follows:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability insurance per person;
- $65,000 bodily injury liability insurance per accident;
- $15,000 property damage liability insurance per accident;
- $3,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP) (no-fault) coverage.
Please be aware that these amounts do change from time to time. Your insurance agent and/or company will be able to tell you if the current minimums have changed, when you apply for a policy. In any case, you are strongly urged not to just buy the minimum amount of auto insurance available. Accident costs have been creeping up in recent years, and you want to be fully protected.
Moreover, while Utah does require basic liability and no-fault coverage, there are many other types of auto insurance out there that can supplement your policy. Consider adding uninsured motorist coverage (both bodily injury and property damage are available), collision coverage, comprehensive coverage and even umbrella liability coverage to your policy. The higher your insurance limits and the more types of insurance you have, the safer you’ll be financially.
Utah State Auto Insurance Laws
As already mentioned above, Utah is a threshold no-fault state. You have to maintain both liability insurance and no-fault insurance so long you are considered a resident of Utah and/or your vehicle is physically present in the state for 90 or more days out of the preceding 365.
Essentially, threshold no-fault means that your own injuries in an accident are paid your insurer, based on your Personal Injury Protection coverage. However, you may be able to recoup (or your insurer may opt) to recoup damages from the at fault party, if it exceeds a certain threshold (injury type, cost, etc.). To learn what these are, please get in contact with your insurance company or agent.
To assign fault in an accident Utah uses comparative negligence. This means a degree of fault can be assessed in each accident. This is very important because it affects your legal right to collect from the other party in an accident. For example, if you are found 15% at fault in an accident, you would only be able to collect up to 85% of the damages from the more at fault party. Also, it is very important to note that if you are found to be 50% or more at fault in an accident, you do not have the legal right to collect any damages.
Additionally you are required by law to show proof of insurance, if requested to do so by a law enforcement officer. The state also maintains a database of registered vehicles in the state, and periodically compares it to the database of insurance policies. If you’re found not to have insurance, you will be sent a letter and may be subject to various penalties.
Failure to buy insurance may result in the following penalties:
- Suspension of your vehicle’s registration;
- A fine of no less than $400 for a 1st offense and no less than $1,000 for 2nd and subsequent offenses;
- Suspension of your driver’s license and inability to renew it until proof of insurance is demonstrated.
So do yourself a favor and just buy insurance before you drive. If you are convicted of failing to buy and maintain insurance you’ll face some or all the penalties above. Moreover, you’ll have to pay reinstatement fees to get your license and registration back. Finally, you’ll find insurance much more difficult to get and much more expensive if you have a conviction.
Utah Car Insurance Companies
You can search for and find all licensed Utah auto insurance companies online. However, going to every car insurer in the state is very time consuming and perhaps a little counterproductive. Instead, you should think about ways to get affordable rates quicker. For example, why not get a free quote from our site?
Another option is to visit the websites of the largest Utah car insurance companies or insurance groups that sell insurance in the state. The following companies currently issue over 75% of the policies in Utah (in order of size).
However, just because an insurer is big doesn’t mean it will offer you the best Utah insurance policy. You have to do a little bit of research and homework before picking just any company. The Utah Insurance Department has helpful tips about buying insurance over the internet. Additionally, they should be the place you turn if you are having problems with your insurer by filing a complaint.
Average Utah Auto Insurance Rates
Utah’s car insurance rates are not too exiting. They are on average a little bit less than the US average, but not vastly so. In 2008, the Insurance Information Institute found the state to be only the 28th most expensive state in the country to buy insurance coverage. Average auto insurance premiums were $709 per year, about $80 less than the US average.
In 2011, CarInsurance.com published their findings for the average auto insurance quotes from their website. They found the average Utah quote to be $1,191 per year, about $250 less per year than the average price quoted for a policy in the US as a whole.
So on balance Utah drivers should pay a bit less for coverage, compared to car owners in other states. That doesn’t mean you can’t personally do better. The first step is to make sure you get multiple car insurance quotes online. Another good place to look is the Insurance Department’s 2010 Premium Rate Comparison Tables. They can help you narrow down your search to companies who prefer drivers like you. Finally, have a look at Tips for Saving Money on Auto Insurance.
Utah Car Accident Statistics
Traditionally, Utah has been a safer state than average to drive in. In 2010, there were 47,777 total crashes that resulted in 252 traffic fatalities according to the Utah Department of Transportation. This is still too many, but at least the trend over the past several years has been an overall decrease.
Better yet, for the past five years the state has always had the lowest rate of drinking and driving in the whole country, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). In 2009, just 16% of accidents were caused by drunk drivers in Utah, compared 32% across the US. This likely due to the fact that the majority of Utah’s residents are Mormons.
However, accidents tend to be fairly geographically concentrated in the state. According to data from the NHTSA the following 5 counties accounted for just under half of all fatalities in the state: Salt Lake County, Weber County, Utah County, Iron County and Tooele County. You can learn more about how to be a safer driver and what the Department of Transportation is doing to make Utah an even safer place to drive from the Traffic and Safety Division.
Compare Utah Car Insurance Quotes To Help You Choose The Right Plan
There are a lot of available Utah car insurance plans you can find online. All major insurers offer free online quotes and many smaller companies do too. The trick is to make sure you get multiple car insurance quotes, so you can make a fair comparison.
As mentioned above, getting cheap insurance will require you to check out more than one car insurance quote. Every company has their own set of rules, underwriting requirements, and preferred customer type. Thus, they will have different rates, features, and benefits. It is really essential to get a Utah car insurance quote from different insurance companies to see which one will benefit you the most.
Having a good driving history will probably lower your Utah car insurance quote to the bare minimum for any type of policy you choose. This may prompt you to take the first cheaper offer that comes along. As tempting as it may sound, follow the first rule and try to find other car insurance companies that may have the same or even better beneficial discounts. An example is the discount that some insurance companies offer, if you don’t make any insurance claims for a certain period of time.
Safety and anti-theft devices can also help lower collision and comprehensive premiums, if you opt for these types of insurance. If the insurance company feels that the chances of your car being in an accident and/or having your car stolen are less than usual, then they should lower premiums to match.
As you compare prices, do keep in mind that you are in control when getting your insurance quotes. So a single Utah car insurance quote will mean nothing, until you compare it with another. Consider companies that offer more free assistance, and always make sure to choose an insurance plan that gives you the maximum amount of protection. It is better to pay a little more today, than to regret not getting enough coverage when you really need it.
Get started now:
Insurance Guides To Utah’s Cities
Salt Lake City
West Valley City