As a Mississippi driver you no doubt want either Mississippi car insurance quotes or information about auto insurance in the state or maybe both. The good news is that we can provide help on all fronts. For a quote just use the form above.
For more detailed information on how insurance works in Mississippi, keep reading the sections below. You can find out about insurance requirements, auto insurance laws, rates and traffic statistics for the state. All this can help you determine which policy is right for you.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements In Mississippi
Mississippi has it’s own rules and laws when it comes to minimum insurance requirements. At the current time the state has very simple requirements compared to most others. To legally drive your car in Mississippi you need to have two types of liability insurance. You must have at least:
- $25,000 per person per accident bodily injury liability insurance;
- $50,000 per accident total bodily injury liability insurance;
- $25,000 per accident property damage liability insurance;
Just keep in mind liability insurance is used to pay the medical and/or property damage costs of others if you are at fault in an accident. It does not pay for your costs. Therefore, if you want to have greater protection you should consider Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage (for your own medical bills), collision coverage (for damage to your car in an accident) and/or comprehensive coverage (for theft and damage to your car from things like fire and storms).
Another important thing to note, is that the liability insurance requirements listed above may not be enough in the event of accident. The costs of accidents have been rising in the US in recent years and Mississippi is no exception. If you don’t have enough liability insurance you are still liable for the costs of an accident. It just means that you will have to pay out of pocket, rather than your insurer picking up the bill. Your insurer is only required to pay up your policy limit and will not pay a penny more.
If you are concerned about getting in an accident with a driver who does not have liability insurance coverage and/or does not have enough liability insurance coverage, then you need to think about Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage. As the name implies, this coverage protects you in the event an uninsured/underinsured driver causes an at fault accident against you. Your insurance company will pay up to your policy limits in this event.
For more about other important legal aspects of insurance in Mississippi please keep reading.
Mississippi State Auto Insurance Laws
Mississippi’s compulsory auto insurance system is still relatively young. It only came into force January 1, 2001 after the passage of Bill 621.
Besides the minimum insurance requirements listed above there are a few other important things included in the Bill. One of these is how you choose to meet your liability insurance requirements themselves. Mississippi’s financial responsibility laws actually allow three options. The vast majority of people choose to meet their obligation simply by buying an insurance policy from a licensed Mississippi insurer.
This is by far the simplest, easiest and cheapest option to meet your financial responsibility obligations. However, there are two other alternatives. You can post a bond for at least the minimum amount of combined bodily injury and property damage liability (currently $75,000) and/or deposit at least this amount in the form of cash or security deposit and have it on file with the Mississippi Insurance Department.
Beyond this, there are two other key pieces of information that may come in handy. The first one that we alluded to above. Mississippi is an at fault insurance state. This means those who cause accidents have to pay for them, either through liability insurance or through other means, if they don’t have sufficient insurance coverage.
To protect insured drivers from uninsured drivers the state of Mississippi takes proof of insurance very seriously. This is most commonly in the form of a Mississippi insurance card issued to you by your insurer. Legally law enforcement officers can’t stop you just to look for proof of insurance but they can ask you for it during a stop for any other statutory violation.
Failure to have insurance and/or show proof of insurance can be expensive. At the current time Bill 621 places the following penalties on those who do have not bought their compulsory liability insurance: a $1,000 fine and suspension of your driving privileges for 1 year (or until you can show proof of proper liability insurance). If you buy liability insurance between the time your fine was issued and your court date, the amount of the fine will be reduced to $100.
So as you can see, it is much simpler to just meet your financial responsibility requirements by buying at least compulsory liability insurance. For more about companies that are licensed to sell insurance, in Mississippi and average rates please keep reading.
Mississippi Car Insurance Companies
Mississippi has many licensed insurance companies. If you are looking for a particular one you can use the Insurance company search page provided by the Insurance Department. If you’re unsure about which company to choose then there are two options.
One, get one or more quotes from this website for free. Two, have a look at the following insurers who are members of the Insurance Information Institute. We are not endorsing any of these companies but they are a good place to start:
Kemper Corporation (formerly Unitrin)
Now before you buy a policy from any company there is a little bit of homework you should do. First, have a look at the rating of the insurance company, is it financially sound? Second have a look at enforcement actions taken against the company, is it going to be hard to make a claim?
Finally, if you have a problem with your insurance company you can request assistance and/or file a complaint with the Mississippi Insurance Department.
Average Mississippi Auto Insurance Rates
Mississippi is a low cost state in part because of its basic insurance requirements (see above). The Insurance Information Institute found that the state was the 36 most expensive (or 15th cheapest) in the country in 2008. They claim average premiums were $654 per year.
CarInsurance.com which tracks online quotes also confirms that the state is relatively low cost. In 2011 average quotes for Mississippi insurance were $1,134 per year, versus average quotes in the rest of the country at $1,441. This means average rates are likely around 25-30% less in the state than they are in the rest of the country.
For more accurate figures you can look at the Insurance Department’s 2010 Rate Comparison Guide, which compares rates from the top 5 originators of insurance policies in the state.
Mississippi Car Accident Statistics
While your insurance rates are likely to be lower in Mississippi, your chance of getting in an accident is not. In fact, the state is among the most dangerous in the whole country in terms of traffic fatalities. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration the state recorded 700 traffic fatalities in 2009. This is down from 931 recorded in 2005.
Therefore the state is getting safer. Yet, it still remains much more dangerous than the national average. The fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled is 1.73 in Mississippi and 1.14 in the US. This means you have over a 50% greater chance of being killed on a road in the state compared to an average road in the country. Fortunately, Mississippi is improving at a faster rate than the rest of country, partially because it has greater room for improvement.
The NHTSA reports that the state has 8 counties that routinely have more than 20 fatalities each in any given year. They are: Hinds County, Desoto County, Harrison County, Forrest County, Jackson County, Rankin County, Jones County and Panola County. Yet even these 8 worst counties only account for a little less than 1/3rd of all fatalities in the state.
The lesson is that you have to be careful when driving in Mississippi. Don’t drink and drive, don’t speed, don’t forget to buckle up and always obey all traffic laws, rules and regulations.
Why You Should Get Mississippi Car Insurance Quotes
One of your bigger costs of car ownership is insurance. If you still don’t have any idea how much you’ll have to spend, you can easily get a Mississippi car insurance quote online. This also offers you flexibility in terms of the coverage that you want for you and your car.
Getting an instant Mississippi auto insurance quote is not really a problem as long as you know where and what to look for (see info above). Going online can save you time when looking for cheap car insurance quotes. This is also the time to ask about companies about their coverage, their policies, and other information regarding the auto insurance that they offer.
Searching online also enables you to shop around for great deals. It lets you compare car insurance quotes to find the one that best suits you and your car. It is great to make sure that you and your car are secured so that you won’t have any problems in the future.
If you don’t have any insurance yet (and you need to by law), it’s the perfect time to get a Mississippi car insurance quote:
Guides To Local Mississippi Insurance