The easiest way to save money on your insurance and your car, involves getting an accurate Kansas car insurance quote. By simply comparing the quotes you have acquired, it will be easier for you to determine what policy is worth your hard-earned cash. After comparing the insurance rates from various companies, you can finally get the Kansas auto insurance you need without busting your budget.
Yet, there are likely several things you don’t know about Kansas insurance that can also help you pick the right policy. For example do you know what the libailty insurance minimums are? How about what type of auto insurance the state has? What are average rates in the state? If you’d like to learn the answers to these and other common Kansas car insurance questions, please keep reading.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements In Kansas
Kansas has some of the strictest laws and requirements for auto insurance in the whole of the United States. Unlike the majority of states where you are only required to purchase liability insurance, in Kansas there are four separate types of insurance you are required to buy. Each with their own minimums.
Given this complexity, let’s first look at each type of required insurance and then look at how much of each you are required to have.
- Bodily Injury Liability: Pays for the other person’s (people’s) medical expenses and funeral costs if you are found at fault in an accident causing injury or death. Also used to pay for your legal costs.
- Property Damage Liability: Pays for the damage to other people’s property if you’re found at fault in an accident. Can be used to pay legal costs, but it does not cover damage to your property.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP)/Kansas No-fault: Pays for your medical, rehabilitation, funeral expenses, lost wages, and in-home assistance costs and those of your passengers regardless of who is at fault in an accident.
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection: Pays your medical costs if you get in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver along with those of your passenger’s. Does not cover property damage caused by an uninsured driver.
Alright, now here are the minimum amounts of each type of coverage you are required by law to have.
Bodily Injury Liability:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
Property Damage Liability:
- $10,000 per accident
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)/Kansas No-fault:
- $4,500 per person for medical costs
- $900 per month for up to one year for disability and/or loss of income for you
- $900 per month for up to one year for disability and/or loss of income survivor benefits
- $25 per day for in-home services
- $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense
- $4,500 for rehabilitation expense
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Protection:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident
Now that you know the minimums you might think you’re done. Unfortunately even with all the required insurance coverage the state of Kansas requires from you, you may still not be fully protected. At the very least you should consider buying insurance with higher limits than those listed above. Your insurance company and/or agent can advise you on different options.
You should also look into two other commonly purchased types of auto insurance that can help you get complete coverage. The first is collision coverage. This will pay for the repairs to your vehicle after an accident, collision or rollover even if you’re at fault.
The second is comprehensive coverage. It can pays for the repairs your car will need if ever it becomes damaged by storms, fire, snow, and other natural calamities. However, be aware that not all comprehensive insurance policies cover floods. So, be sure to check before buying if you think there is any chance your vehicle may get damaged in one.
Kansas State Auto Insurance Laws
As you can see above, Kansas has a lot of requirements when it comes to getting auto insurance. One key thing to note about insurance in the state is that it works on a partial no-fault insurance system. Basically, your required personal injury protection coverage acts as no-fault insurance because it is paid to you no matter who was at fault in an accident. This is why it is sometimes referred to as Kansas no-fault.
However if it were a pure no-fault state, you would not need to purchase coverage options such as liability insurance or uninsured motorist coverage. Instead, Kansas still holds drivers financially responsible for the accidents they cause. It is all a part of Kansas’ financial responsibility laws and is the reason why you need all the other types of insurance coverage listed above.
The other very important thing you need to know about Kansas insurance is that proof of insurance is required in a variety of circumstances. This can be either can insurance card, a copy of your policy or an insurance binder. The following are the 3 most common situations where you’ll need to show proof:
- If requested by a law enforcement officer;
- At the scene of an accident in which you’re involved;
- When you register or renew your vehicle registration (license plate);
Failure to show proof of insurance can result in fines an/or the suspension of your driver’s license. So be sure that whenever you drive you have some form of proof with you.
Finally, there are two other important aspects of insurance law that are important to know, but which we don’t have the space to address. The first is under what circumstances an insurance company can cancel or choose not to renew your insurance policy. The second are the key things you need to know about filing an insurance claim. Given the complexity of Kansas’ insurance laws, it is a good idea to give these two things a look.
Kansas Car Insurance Companies
There is no shortage of insurance companies willing to sell auto insurance polices to Kansas drivers. The tough part may be picking which one is right for you. The complete Kansas Insurance Company List can be found on the Insurance Department’s website.
Alternatively, you can get a free car insurance quote on our website to help you find a company. You can also check out the following companies to get an insurance quote from. They are all members of the Insurance Information Institute (I.I.I.), which means in theory they are larger and more established.
Kemper Corporation (formerly Unitrin)
Before buying an insurance policy for the companies listed above or any other company licensed to do business in Kansas you should spend a few minutes doing a little background research. The main thing to look for are complaints against a company and it’s financial health information. Any company that scores poorly on either metric is probably not worth considering.
Average Kansas Auto Insurance Rates
Opinions about Kansas’ average auto insurance rates vary, but the general consensus is that rates tend to be cheaper in the state compared to the rest of the country. According to the I.I.I., the state does very well coming in as the 6th cheapest state in the whole country. They claim average annual premiums for 2008 of just $576, about $200 less than the US average that year.
CarInsurance.com provides information from their much smaller premium index. They claim in 2011 that drivers are being quoted average premiums of $1,234 on the site, again about $200 less than drivers from other states. So although we can’t say for sure what the average rate paid for auto insurance is, it seems very likely to be cheaper than that paid in the rest of the country.
For a more nuanced view of what sorts of rates you can expect to pay without just getting a quote, you should have a look at the Rate Comparison Tables provided by the Department of Insurance. These tables provide hypothetical rate information for a number of different sample drivers. You’ll still need to get quotes to figure out the rate you’ll be charged, but it can help point you in the right direction.
They also have a shopping for auto insurance worksheet, which you may find useful when you’re ready to buy insurance.
Kansas Car Accident Statistics
Although Kansas was for many years about on par with the US average for car accident statistics, it has not done as much as other states to improve it’s safety record. Thus, according to data from the Kansas Department of Transportation and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) the state is now more dangerous than the national average.
In 2008 there were 65,858 accidents in the state, which resulted in 21,058 injuries of various severity and 385 deaths. In terms of deaths, the state actually had slightly more in 2009 (386); bucking the steep downward trend seen in most other states. In 2009 the fatality rate per 100 million vehicle miles traveled was 1.31 in Kansas versus 1.14 in the US as a whole. As recently, as 2005 the state was actually doing better than the rest of the country.
Finally, if you live or drive in the following 6 counties you should pay extra attention. The NHTSA reports that they each had at least 10 fatalities in 2009: Sedgwick County, Johnson County, Reno County, Shawnee County, Wyandotte County and Butler County.
Kansas Car Insurance Quotes For Cheaper Policies
You want to purchase the best insurance policy that suits your budget and your needs. To keep your insurance premiums low, try to purchase only the essential insurance coverage options you will need to keep yourself safer from unpredictable road accidents.
The information listed on this site includes the most important things that you remember while shopping for the perfect insurance policy. Now that you have a better understanding of how insurance works in the state, it’s time to find the cheapest Kansas car insurance quote available on the market, that still provides you with all the protection you want.
Your quest for a cheaper policy continues by getting one or more Kansas car insurance quotes using this form:
Insurance Guides For Kansas Cities
Kansas Auto Insurance And Shopper’s Guide (April, 2011)