Instant Colorado Car Insurance Quote – CO Auto Insurance

Enter Your Colorado Zip Code:



Colorado car insurance quotes are a great way to get insured. According to Colorado state laws, car owners have to insure their cars. This is very important because an accident can quickly become a burden.

Aside from the medical bills and the repairs that need to be done on your car; you will also have to consider the damage done to the other party involved, especially if you are at fault. If you are in need of cheap insurance, what you need to do is compare Colorado car insurance quotes from each other to really see what is the best deal that you can get.

Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements In Colorado

Colorado does not have overly onerous requirements for auto insurance. At the current time you are required to get the following insurance coverage, known as 25/50/15, for your vehicle:

  • $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability coverage;
  • $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage;
  • $15,000 per accident for property damage liability coverage

In addition, starting from January 1, 2009 you are also required to purchase at least $5,000 of Medical Payment (Med-Pay) Coverage in Colorado. Yet, bizarrely enough if you write to your insurance company and provide proof in writing that you no longer want the coverage, you can effectively ‘opt-out’.

Essentially, Med-pay coverage provides money for immediate medical costs (up to your policy limit) that arise from an accident without the need to get in contact with any other insurer. These can include ambulance costs, emergency room costs and first responder costs.

In any case as a Colorado driver you are strongly encouraged not only to keep your Med-Pay coverage, but also get higher liability limit auto insurance as well. Moreover, even though you are not required to purchase other forms of car insurance such as uninsured motorist coverage, comprehensive and collision coverage you are again advised to look into doing so.

Think of it this way; the more insurance coverage you have, the less financial risk you take when out on the road.

Colorado State Auto Insurance Laws

There are several laws that govern auto insurance in Colorado. The first thing to know is that it is based on the tort system, where legal and financial responsibility is based upon the law of negligence. In simple terms this means that Colorado operates under ‘fault’ based insurance where the guilty party in an accident has to pay the costs. Either out-of-pocket or from their insurance policy.

As mentioned above the law also requires you to be financially responsible when operating your motor vehicle in the state. This can be achieved by buying at least the minimum coverage as outlined above and/or buying a combined car insurance policy of at least $65,000. Failure to purchase proper insurance could result in all sorts of fines and penalties and may even mean you can’t purchase coverage in the future.

Thus, you are required at all times to have proof of insurance when in your car. Generally speaking you’ll want to have your insurance card available. However, if for some reason you don’t you may (at the discretion law enforcement officers) be able to use the following: Copy of your insurance policy, A letter from your insurance company (on company letterhead), Computer printout from insurer, and/or Facsimile of the proof of insurance. By far the easiest is just to keep your insurance card next to your driver’s license.

If you do drive without insurance and get caught you may be served with an Affidavit and Notice of Suspension. If this happens you will have to get SR-22 insurance within 7 days or get a hearing with the DMV. Failure to do either will mean your license will be suspended and you won’t be able to drive until you resolve your insurance issues.

Finally, you should be aware that your car insurance policy is considered a legal contract in the state of Colorado. Your rights and responsibilities should be clearly laid out in it. If you fail to pay your insurance premiums your insurer can immediately cancel your policy. Other legitimate reasons for cancling your policy before the end of the term include:

  • Your driver’s license is suspended or revoked;
  • You knowingly make a false statement(s) on an insurance claim
  • You knowingly make a false statement(s) on your insurance application

You can learn more from Regulation 5-2-12 Concerning Automobile Consumer Protection.

Colorado Car Insurance Companies

There are many companies that are authorized to sell car insurance in Colorado. You can get a complete list from the Colorado Division of Insurance company search page. You may also be interested to learn about complaint ratios for various companies and/or how to file a complaint against your insurer.

If you are looking for some recommended names in insurance than perhaps the following list of insurers affiliated with the Insurance Information Institute may be of some interest.

Allianz of America, Inc.

Allstate Insurance Group

Bituminous Insurance Companies

Chubb Group Of Insurance Companies

Farmers Group, Inc.

GEICO

GuideOne Insurance

The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc.

The Hartford Financial Services Group

Harleysville Insurance

Holyoke Mutual Insurance Company

Kemper Corporation (formerly Unitrin)

Liberty Mutual Group

MetLife Auto & Home

Michigan Millers Mutual Insurance Company

Nationwide

OneBeacon Insurance Group

Safeco Corporation

SECURA Insurance Companies

State Auto Mutual Group

State Farm

Travelers

USAA

Zurich North America

Average Colorado Auto Insurance Rates

Buying insurance in Colorado most likely costs less than the national average, but just how much less is open to some debate. The Insurance Information Institute claims in 2008 that the state was the 23rd most expensive. Annual premiums were $729 compared to $789 American wide.

More recent numbers from CarInsurance.com show Colorado doing relatively even better. For 2011 they claim yearly premiums were $1,081 compared to a national average of $1,441. Whatever the acctual numbers are, you as a driver should on average pay less in Colorado.

Yet, the only thing that really matters is what you pay for your policy. And, the only to find that out is to get one or more free Colorado insurance quotes today.

Colorado Car Accident Statistics

Colorado is a relatively safe state to drive in. The Colorado State Patrol investigates around 1,500 to 2,000 crashes each end every month. While, this may seem like a lot, the vast majority result in no injury or death to those involved.

Comparative statistics from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration show that Colorado drivers are involved in fewer fatal accidents than the national average. In Colorado there is 1.00 deaths per 100 million vehicle miles traveled compared to the US average of 1.14. However, this still meant that 465 died on Colorado roads in 2009.

This number is still far too high, but at least the trend is going down. For example, In 2005 there were over 600 traffic fatalities. Part of the issue comes from the fact that Colorado has a slightly higher drinking and driving rate than the US as a whole. 34% of fatal accidents were caused by drunk drivers in 2009 in Colorado compared to 32% across the whole US.

Finally the following 5 counties are the most dangerous ones to drive in: El Paso County, Weld County, Denver County, Arapahoe County and Jefferson County. You should always pay attention when you drive, but take extra care when in these parts of the state.

Getting Colorado Car Insurance Quotes

It all starts by getting some quotes. You’ll have to start by giving some basic details about yourself and the car(s) you drive. Your details are important to insurers, just as the details they give are important to you.

Give detailed and accurate information regarding yourself, your car and your driving record without compromising your privacy. For example, a Colorado car insurance quote might take into consideration the year your car was built to determine your premiums. Some companies place greater weight on this factor and other companies weigh other factors as being more important.

However, you should keep in mind that the higher your current mileage, the higher your costs will be. So if you want the company to be accurate with their details, you should also provide them with accurate details.

Your Colorado car insurance quotes might be affected if you raise your deductible, so do not forget to inquire about that. Sometimes, by raising your deductible by $300-500, you can bring down your coverage costs by about 15 to 30 percent, which can be a big thing. In addition to this, do not forget to ask for other discounts.

A driver’s educational course, for example, as well as having airbags and anti-lock brakes can lower the quotation that you can get from an insurance company. Getting a single insurance company to insure several cars and your home as well can further lower your premiums.

In the end, lowering your Colorado car insurance quotes is fairly easy, given that you know the different tips and tricks of the industry. Do keep in mind that just because a certain insurance company is well-known, this does not mean that they are the best at what they do, and you should still do your research.

Enter Your Colorado Zip Code:



Car Insurance For Colorado’s Cities

Arvada

Aurora

Colorado Springs

Denver

Fort Collins

Lakewood

Pueblo

Thornton

Westminster

More Information

State of Colorado-Department of Regulatory Agencies – Division of Insurance
Home Page

Department of Revenue – Division of Motor Vehicles

Be Sociable, Share!